

104 S. Wing St. Northport, MI 49670 p. (231) 386-5153 f. (231) 386-9838 www.northportps.org

Organizational Meeting Minutes

January 9, 2023 NPS Board of Education

Past Board President, Ben Purdy, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Oath of Office: Newly elected Board Members, Jake Zimmer and Danielle Percy, took the legal Oath of Office and were officially sworn in to the Northport Public School Board of Education.

Members Present: Ben Purdy, Tom Wetherbee, Ryan Blessing, Dan Duffiney, Danielle Percy, Jake Zimmer

Members Absent: Dr. Barbara Conley

A quorum is present.

Election of a Temporary Chairperson

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to appoint Ben Purdy as temporary chairperson to serve until the Election of the President.

> All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to approve the agenda at this January 9, 2023 organizational board meeting.

> Motion Carried 6-0 All Ayes

School District Legal Reference Note

Legal Name of School District: Northport Public School

The Northport Public School Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected for terms of 6 years in November of even numbered years.

Members holding office as of January 9, 2023 and the expiration of their current terms:

•	Thomas M. Wetherbee	2024
•	Ryan Blessing	2024
•	Dr. Barbara Conley	2026
•	Daniel K. Duffiney	2026
•	Ben P. Purdy	2028
•	Danielle Percy	2028
•	Jacob Zimmer	2028

Election of Officers

PRESIDENT:

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to open nominations for President.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to nominate Ben Purdy for President.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Ryan Blessing, supported by Tom Wetherbee, to close nominations for President.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to elect Ben Purdy for President.

Roll Call Vote:

Dan Duffiney

Danielle Percy

Ben Purdy

Tom Wetherbee

Jake Zimmer

Ryan Blessing

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Ben Purdy is seated as President.

VICE-PRESIDENT:

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ben Purdy, to open nominations for Vice-President.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Ryan Blessing, supported by Tom Wetherbee, to nominate Dan Duffiney for Vice-President.

Motion: Moved by Dan Duffiney, supported by Jake Zimmer, to nominate Barbara Conley for Vice-President.

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to close nominations for Vice-President.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to elect Barbara Conley for Vice-President.

Roll Call Vote:

Dan Duffiney

Danielle Percy

Ben Purdy

Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer Ryan Blessing

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Dr. Barbara Conley is seated as Vice-President.

SECRETARY:

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to open nominations for Secretary.

All Ayes

Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Dan Duffiney, to nominate Danielle Percy for

Secretary.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to close nominations for Secretary.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to elect Danielle Percy for Secretary.

Roll Call Vote:

Danielle Percy

Ben Purdy

Tom Wetherbee

Jake Zimmer

Ryan Blessing

Dan Duffiney

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Danielle Percy is seated as Secretary.

TREASURER:

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ben Purdy, to open nominations for Treasurer.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ben Purdy, to nominate Daniel Duffiney for

Treasurer.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ryan Blessing, to close nominations for Treasurer.

All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0

Motion: Moved by Tom Wetherbee, supported by Ben Purdy, to elect Daniel Duffiney for Treasurer.

Roll Call Vote: Ben Purdy Tom Wetherbee Jake Zimmer Ryan Blessing Dan Duffiney Danielle Percy			
All Ayes	Motion Carried 6-0		
Daniel Duffiney is seated as Treasurer.			
Establish Time, Date, and Location of Meetings Motion: Moved by Ryan Blessing, supported by Jake Zimmer, that the Northport Board of Education hereby state that regular meetings will be held at 5:30 p.m. in room 300 at Northport Public School on the 2 nd Monday of each month. All Ayes Motion Carried 6-0			
Adjournment Making Mayad by Tam Watherhea supports	d by Dan Duffings, to adjourn the organizational moeting		
All Ayes	d by Dan Duffiney, to adjourn the organizational meeting. Motion Carried 6-0		
The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.			
Danielle Percy, Secretary			
Elizabeth Schwind, Recording Secretary			